Come Fly With Me – Aerial Silks

Aerial Silk Classes at Vital Health 1855 West 4th Avenue

Aerial Silk Classes at Vital Health 1855 West 4th Avenue

I’ve wanted to learn how to use aerial silks for a long time. My head rushes and my heart pounds at the thought of hanging upside down. When I found out Vital Health Medical Clinic was having a VIP aerial silk class to kick off their holiday season soiree, RSVP immediately was what I did.

Image

When I was a kid, I threw myself at the monkey bars. When my feet dangled above the ground, I felt free. Swinging from bar to bar, I felt the rush of excitement fill me as I felt my fingers wrap around the bar in front of me. With my feet swinging precariously underneath me, I would continue forward until I reached the end of the jungle gym. Jumping down, I would run to the back of the long line of children in anticipation of the next time I would get to hang off the ground.

monkey-bars

One day, I grew up. Opportunities to pick up my feet seemed stressful. Instead of finding time to play, years of my life were spent focused on placing one foot in front of the other along the path towards success. It felt like a long path.  What I longed for was to be  swept off my feet. In 2004, it happened.

Pole Dancing For Fitness

When I wrote articles for a weekly paper, I reviewed a pole dance for fitness class. Ten years ago the concept of pole dance classes felt taboo. When I went to class, I was not sure what to expect. Visions of tripping in high heals and nudity popped in my mind. To my relief and delight, class was a safe space to play. My classmates came in all shapes and sizes. The first time I wrapped my hands around a brass pole and picked my feet off the ground, I felt like a kid again. The world felt full of possibilities.

When I walked down the street, a sign post was no longer a sign post. It was a pole that I could practice a ballerina spin around. The friendships I developed within the studio quickly grew past the limitations of class. The pole dance community was full of risk takers – women who wanted to take chances in their work, lives and relationships. As my confidence and community grew, I did too.

I loved pole dancing so much I became an instructor.  One of my favourite things to do is demonstrate a move and see a student staring at me as if I am crazy. Then they try it.  I love watching someone’s eyes light up when they pick their feet off the ground and are ok. They are alive. The excitement burns bright in their eyes. In the past ten years, I’ve enjoyed teaching and learning advanced moves.

This holiday season one of the greatest gifts I received was the chance to feel that sense of awe when I got to hang upside down in the aerial silk class. My partner in crime, Monica Hamburg and I played. Monica, who had taken aerial silk classes before, reached for the silks and immediately began to play with inversions. In awe, I spent the first bit of time watching her move effortlessly from posture to posture.

The lovely Monica Hamburg in the "vampire pose" an advanced silk posture

The lovely Monica Hamburg in the “vampire pose” an advanced silk posture

Under the supervision and guidance of Ellany, I got to learn inversions. With patience and kindness, Ellany created a safe space for me to play. With firm gentleness, she helped guide me into postures.

International Life Strategist, Tina Chen uses aerial silks as a tool for coaching, health and wellness

Ellany uses aerial silks as a tool for coaching, health and wellness

After an uplifting and inverted time at Vital Health’s soiree, I was delighted to find out that Ellany, would be offering classes at Vital Health.

What is Vital Silks Aerial Coaching? 

It’s an innovative first!! A fusion technique that combines the best of:

  • Co-Active Coaching
  • Aerial Silks
  • Yoga
  • Chopra Meditation
  • Deep Tissue Massage
  • Chiropractic Inversion
  • Community Building

The queen genius of Vital Health Medical & Wellness (where East truly meets West), Heidi Henderson, and Ellany have created a space in the heart of Kitsilano, for you to experience the benefits of:

  • freedom
  • play
  • empowerment
  • relaxation
  • strengthening
  • belongingThey are offering a New Year’s special. 2 classes for $25. If you sign up, you just might see me there. I am counting the days until I get a chance to be upside down again.

    Getting a chance to play at Vital Health Aerial Silk Coaching under the guidance of Tina Chen

    Getting a chance to play at Vital Health Aerial Silk Coaching under the guidance of Ellany.

Leave a comment